Which “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” Book is the Best?

Instasize_0613105216-1

This is by-far my favorite young adult contemporary series. Each book is fun, lighthearted, and entertaining. No book is perfect, but which one has the least flaws?

First, lets individually rate each book with hearts according to plot, characters, writing, and overall enjoyment. One heart is a low rating; two is a medium; three is a high.

Plot:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Unique and creative premise, though it’s only focused on during the first third for the book. 💜💜

P.S. I Still Love You: There’s no plot outside of the romance; lacks a balance between romance and familial aspects as shown in the previous book. 💜

Always and Forever, Lara Jean: Relatable and realistic, though a lot less suspenseful than the summary leads you to believe. 💜💜

Characters:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Distinct and loveable characters. 💜💜💜

P.S. I Still Love You: Characters I’ve grown to love make stupid/selfish decisions. 💜💜

Always and Forever, Lara Jean: Peter has amazing character development. Lara Jean is a bit more mature. 💜💜💜

Writing:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Easy to read and engaging. I never wanted to put the book down. 💜💜💜

P.S. I Still Love You: Same lighthearted tone as it’s predecessor. 💜💜💜

Always and Forever, Lara Jean: The random fragments supposedly used as Lara Jean’s thoughts are a little off-putting. 💜💜

Overall Enjoyment:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: Fun and addictive. Never a boring moment. 💜💜💜

P.S. I Still Love You: An emotional roller coaster: takes you high with the romantic moments; wavers with the fights and break ups; plummets after the break up; brings you up and stagnant, coasting to a stop in the last three pages. 💜💜

Always and Forever, Lara Jean: Will make you giddy, make you think, and nearly make you cry. 💜💜💜

So far here are the results:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before: 11/12

P.S. I Still Love You: 8/12

Always and Forever, Lara Jean: 9/12


Now lets list the pros and cons. Each book will start off with the numbers earned from the individual rating analysis. Pros will add to these numbers, and cons will subtract from them. *Spoilers ahead*

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before:

Pros: Cons:
Lara Jean’s relatability. Whether referring to her personality, or her life situations, Lara Jean is someone everyone can relate to on some level. Granted, she is a bit immature in the first book, but her naiveté also makes her so loveable. Josh and Margot. Separately or together they both annoyed me. Josh is the king of mixed signals. Margot is the girl with the frozen heart.
So many cookies! Genevieve. Need I say more?
Even though I’ve questioned what caused the spark of my love for Peter after rereading part of the book (I realized it was because he gave Lara Jean donuts #foodislove), I liked him in this book, especially near the end. He’s not afraid to tell Lara Jean what she needs to hear, which is something that will help her grow.
Life lessons. This book teaches you the importance of family and taking chances, even when you’re scared.

Pros: +4

Cons: -2

 

P.S. I Still Love You:

Pros: Cons:
All of the cute moments with Lara Jean and Peter. The lack of communication between Lara Jean and Peter is frustrating. Half of their problems would have been solved if they just talked to each other!
Lessons about taking risks and dealing with cyberbullying. The love triangle was forced and unnecessary. I don’t like John Ambrose McClaren. He’s too annoyingly perfect, has little to no personality, and he’s too passive. He’s spineless and bland and he tried to destroy my ship!
Genevieve. I sympathized with her a little bit in this book, but I still can’t stand her.

Pros: +2

Cons: -3

 

Always and Forever, Lara Jean:

Pros: Cons:
Less Genevieve. The time jump was a bit off-putting. I would have liked to see Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship grow slowly over time, rather than be told what they’re new relationship quirks are.
The added maturity helps tackle some topics a bit better than P.S. I Still Love You did. Lara Jean is a lot more grown-up and is in real, serious love now, so the topic of sex and her insecurities about her virginity are much bigger issues for her. The teenage drunkenness isn’t very Lara Jean-esque. She’s such a good girl that it came as a minor shock.
The heartwarming family moments, especially with Trina. Margot’s attitude. I already didn’t like her, but she got on my nerves even more in this book. She was very disrespectful to her dad and Trina. Just because she’s twenty doesn’t mean she can do whatever she wants in her father’s house.
All the cute moments with Lara Jean and Peter. The random fragments.
Peter’s character development. He has a layered personality now. He’s no longer that unobtainable jock that every girl wants, but only the head cheerleader can have. He’s a sweet, loyal boy who will do anything for the people he loves, but also has a bad habit of shutting those people out when he’s hurt. Peter’s mom. Even Trina called out Mrs. Kavinsky! The woman is low-key rude and tried to guilt Lara Jean into dumping Peter so he could focus on his future! Just because her marriage ended terribly, doesn’t mean she should sabotage her son’s happiness. Genevieve cheated on him plenty of times before! How come she didn’t say anything about that?
Positive messages about life decisions/the future, cherishing your loved ones, and taking risks in love.

Pros: +6

Cons: -5


It hurts to analyze the books that I love. They can put me on such an emotional high, but once I take a step back on see them for what they are my heart clenches with the pain of reality. Here are the final results:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before:

Individual Rating: 11/12

Pros: +4

Cons: -2

Total Rating: 13

P.S. I Still Love You:

Individual Rating: 8/12

Pros: +2

Cons: -3

Total Rating: 7

Always and Forever, Lara Jean:

Individual Rating: 9/12

Pros: +6

Cons: -5

Total Rating: 10

The first book in any series is usually the best and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is no exception. I find myself picking this book up off my shelf to reread my favorite parts constantly. It left a huge impression on my life and deserves to be read by everyone. Always and Forever, Lara Jean is a close second, but fell behind with some of the writing and side characters. It’s ironic that the book my blog is named after is the “worst” of this series (“To All the Books I’ve Loved/Read Before” was already taken 😂). But honestly there is no bad book in this series. I recommend it to every lover of contemporary YA.

Check out my reviews for these books and comment below which one is your favorite.

Leave a Reply

